Makeup · Product Review

Review: Benefit’s The Porefessional primer

Benefit Porefessional Primer Review

As a teenager I used to wonder why I had all these bumps and ‘holes’ in my face, what was wrong with my skin? Then I discovered the world of skincare and youtube tutorials that I finally understood the importance of primers. Having combination skin with a very very oily t-zore means that I will have more enlarged pores and white/black heads and someone else with a different skin type. So, the best way to reduce the appearance of my pores would be through balancing my skin’s oil production which is about as easy as teaching pigs to fly, but another easy and temporary method is to use primers!

Benefit’s The Porefessional Primer is a much hyped about and may I add expensive primer, highly raved for it’s ability to effectively cover up those annoying pores! I’ve wanted to try this primer for the longest time but kept putting it off because I did not want to spend $50 on a primer (I’m not a huge primer fan), but my visit to a Sephora store led to the discovery of a small travel size Porefessional Primer. The travel sized product is about 7.5ml (0.25 fl. Oz) and retailed for $26 – still not cheap at all, but I had to see what the hype was about and so curiosity got to my wallet.

Now that the rambling is over, let’s get to the review!

Benefit's Porefessional Primer Review

Pore coverage: Meh-Good. I’m not sure if my pores are just too big or if my expectations are too high, but it didn’t really cover my pores all that much to deserve the hype. Sure it make my skin a bit more smoother but the pores were not entirely invisible from sight.

Increase foundation longevity? Not really. I didn’t notice a difference in the longevity of my foundations when I use the primer and when I don’t, so I dare say it doesn’t do much in the longevity department (but I guess it wasn’t particularly popular for that).

Price: Expensive. I know that there are other primers out there that are much much more expensive (like the YSL’s or Sisley’s) but I feel that theres nothing about this primer that deserves it hype. No gold flakes or unicorn tears here so … 😐

Repurchase? No. Frankly I’ve tried other primers (like Maybelline’s and Rimmel’s) and I feel like they’re pretty much comparable to this primer (with a huge price difference).

Overall, this is a basic pore filling primer that can give you a smoother flawless base and if you have the money to spare then this is not too bad of an investment. If you’re someone who prefers to keep their makeup stash practical and inexpensive then this product may not be worth your time or money.

I hope you enjoy the review and until next time, stay curious!

 

Tinnie

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Review: Benefit’s The Porefessional primer

Leave a Reply

