Review: NYX Lingerie Liquid lipstick

image1-13.PNG

I recently jumped onto the liquid lipstick bandwagon, yes I am pretty late in the game, but better late than never. I am generally a lip tint kinda girl and I still am – lip tints for me are just so much more fuss free and longer lasting than lipsticks or liquid lipsticks, which just suits perfectly in my fuss free lifestyle ūüėČ .Initially I wanted to trial one of Kylie Jenner’s Lipstick kits (you know, I just wanted to see what the fuss was about), but I was well aware that it was not something easy to get my hands on (online shopping and waiting for shippings are not my thing) so I decided to purchase the next best, Nyx’s Lingerie Liquid Lipstick.

I particularly wanted to trial the Nyx Lingerie Liquid Lipstick line because I desperately needed a nude coloured lipstick at home (I ¬†didn’t own a single nude colour lippie then) ! ¬†When I swatched the shades at the store I found that a lot of the colours were a bit too out there for me and I simply cannot see myself wearing them so I settled for a nice safe nude-pink colour, the Nyx’s Lingerie Liquid lipstick in the shade LIPLI08 -Bedtime flirt.

image3-5.JPG

Appearance: Meh. I suspect that this is something that happens when you use liquid lipsticks but I find that the liquid lipstick quickly dries and makes my lips appear all dry and crackly.

Packaging: Good. The packaging is appealing and easy to use. I feel like it looks very similar to Kylie Jenner’s liquid lipsticks but I guess that was the idea. The applicator feels a bit cheap, I just feel like it’s a tad too stiff and sparse.

Formulation: Meh. Whilst the formulation gives you great colour pay off, too much of it could make your lips appear dry and sticky. On occasions I can feel my lips sticking together when I talk even though it has already dried up and settled on my lips (generally if I apply more than one coat).

Longevity: ~ 3 hours. I find that the lipstick can be easily transferred from my lips so regular reapplication is a must. For someone like me (who do not have the pleasure of getting regular touch up breaks at work), this is hugely inconvenient! Generally, I avoid reaching out for it during working days. I also avoid wearing it out for breakfast, lunch or dinner because I know that this will remove the lipstick off in the streakest way possible and I prefer to avoid embarrassing myself in public.

image4-2

Colour: Nice. The shade¬†I got is very pretty, natural and mature looking on my lips. If you’re after something that will help you look put together and¬†sophisticated then this is the shade!

Pigmentation: Great. No complaints¬†here, the pigmentation is spot on in this one! ūüėČ

Ease of use: Great. Pretty much swipe and go, if you’re someone more¬†pedantic with your lipstick look then you may need a few extra seconds perfecting the outline but otherwise it¬†really is a fuss free application. A word of¬†caution, work fast! This liquid lipstick dries quickly so if you think that you can go in again and fix the application then you will be eft very disappointed!

Price: Reasonable. I got mine for about $15 AUD, which is expensive to me since my liptints are generally below $10 AUD.. but the price is a lot cheaper than other liquid lipsticks out there.

Repurchase?¬†Highly unlikely. It’s not a definite no, I like the pigmentation too much to say I’ll never give it ago again.. but there’s not much about this item that’s wowing me at the moment. Also the fact that it sits on top and dries up my lips inhibits it from becoming my regular reached for lipsticks.

Overall, I LOVE the pigmentation and the shade but the formula isn’t the best. The product has inherited a lot of the shortcomings associated with liquid lipsticks including drying out the lips and looking patchy (especially when you try to come in again to fix the look). I have actually reverted back to using my trusty Beyond liptint¬†¬†and for the time being I think I may just to stick to it. ūüėČ

And that’s it folks!

Hope you found the review useful and until next time, stay curious!

 

Tinnie

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Review: NYX Lingerie Liquid lipstick

  1. I’ve been wanting to try the Kylie Jenner’s one too, but yes it’s so hard to get them!

    This NYX’s looks like it might seep into the lip lines. Does it do that for you?

    Debbie | sumnsubstance.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

