Beauty · Korean skincare · Skincare

Beating the dry winter skin!

Dry winter skin

Winter has well and truly descended upon us here down under and so far, my skin is struggling… as my mornings become darker and the  fog becomes thicker, my skin becomes tighter and oh so much drier! My favourite foundations now emphasises dry patches that I never knew I had and random areas of my face would feel bone dry and itchy. The saddest thing of all? .. my normal skincare routine is no longer giving me the results it once did. 😥

Ideally our skincare routine should change according to our situations, conditions like stress or weather would have a big impact on your skin (no surprises there). A part of me had expected winter to transform my oily-combo skin for the worse, and I’d thought I was prepared enough to combat it. Wrong!…  I was not prepared for this icy winter at all! Nowadays my skin would feel rough and dry and my foundation seems to make my skin feel tighter and tighter as the day progresses. So I figure it’s time to seriously revamp my skincare routine and pull out the big guns!

So my winter essentials?!

Lets begin!

Skin Food’s Black Sugar Wash Off Mask

Skin Food Black Sugar Mask Wash Off

In summer I like to put off exfoliating simply because my skin’s massive oil production manages to keep it smooth and soft enough but in winter exfoliating is  a must for me! I find that winter manages to build this nice and thick layer of coarse and dry skin on top of my face and nothing is more satisfying than exfoliating it away! For this step I prefer to use a physical exfoliant and my pick for this task is the Skin Food’s Black Sugar Wash off Mask!

Sulwhasoo Essential Trio

I’ve already reviewed the Sulwhasoo’s Essential Trio set here , but seriously this trio has been the saving grace for my skin! It penetrates deeply into the skin and hydrates at a much deeper level. Whilst they are super moisturising, these three alone are not enough to combat my winter skin (yes it is very cold and dry here) but it makes a great hydration stepping stone for other products! 😉

Kiehl’s Iris Activating Extract

Kiehl's Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence

I like to keep the Kiehl’s Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence in my bathroom so as soon as I finish with my shower I can smother this all over my face.  For me, winter equals long warm showers and that evidently would result in dry rough skin.. The Kiehl’s Iris Extract helps hydrate my skin and seals in the moisture . I’ve found that the Kiehl’s Iris Extract is very similar to Sulwhasoo’s Balancing Water EX but the Kiehl’s extract is a lot thicker (also it doesn’t hydrate as deeply) and can act as a mild moisturiser – this gives me sufficient time to stroll back into my room and continue my skincare routine! 😉

SK-II’s RNA Power Essence

SK-II RNA Essence

SK-II RNA Power Essence is not only an anti-aging powerhouse but it’s milky and rich texture also makes it super hydrating! I find that this serum is a tad too rich for me in the hot humid weather but in winter it’s amazing! Now not only can I freeze time but I can also have hydrated and plump skin!! Hehe

SK-II’s RNA Power Moisturiser 

SK-II RNA Power Moisturiser

This one is hands down my favourite moisturiser and it easily tops my holy grails product list. Trust me I’ve tried giving it up and substituting it with more affordable moisturisers but nothing can moisturise like SK-II RNA Power Moisturiser can! So far I’ve gone through 4 tubes of the expensive conconction and I can’t seem to stop. This expensive elixir moisturises like no other, I can feel it seal and lock up as well as add hydration and moisture to my face whilst other moisturises just sit on my face and evaporate into thin air!.. with frequent use the SK-II’s RNA Power Moisturiser makes my skin dewy and smooth and I just LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

Psst.. Just finished another jar so expect a product review soon! 🙂

The Ordinary’s Rosehip Oil

The Ordinary's Rosehip Oil

A facial oil is a must in winter, especially since the only thing that could stop winter from plucking away your moisture is a layer of oil. Rosehip oil is a favourite of mine (for it’s antioxidant properties), it is also a great way to give you a summer glow! I’ve recently discovered The Ordinary brand and have found that it works very similarly if not the same to Trilogy’s Rosehip oil, but at a fraction of the price! So obviously this is my new winter staple!

I generally apply a generous layer onto my skin at night as the last step of my skincare routine, just to lock everything up. I also use about 1-2 drops in the morning just to help give me a healthy dewy look under my foundation.

The Saem’s Snail Mucin Sheet Mask

The Saem Snail Mucin Sheet Mask

I’m not generally a sheet mask girl – mainly because I find that most are too heavily fragranced for me and also the serum too watery, causing my skin to became even drier…So the Saem’s Snail Mucin Sheet Mask was a pleasant surprise for me, sure it does smell of artificial fragrance but not too much and the snail mucin is thick enough to hydrate my skin. I avoid using this in summer because the slimly-ness makes me uncomfortable but in winter it quenches my skin’s thirst so well that I can’t live without it!

Sulwhasoo Overnight Vitalising Mask EX

Sulwhasoo's Overnight Revitalising mask

Sleeping packs or masks are a good idea in winter, exposing your skin to either the artificial heating or icy cold overnight would guarantee dry coarse skin in the morning. The best way to lock up your skincare routine as well as the moisture in your skin is to seal it up with either a facial oil or overnight mask (I like to do both!). The Sulwhasoo’s overnight Vitalising Mask Ex is also said to be able to leave your skin looking brighter as well but to be honest, I haven’t seen much of a difference and I frankly, am just interested in it’s hydrating properties. 🙂

Currently I am in the process of trying out a few new hydrating products and will fill you guys in on how I go soon!

What do you do to keep your skin soft and smooth all winter? Share below!

And that’s it folks! I hope you found it useful and until next time …

Stay curious!

Tinnie

xoxo

 

19 thoughts on “Beating the dry winter skin!

    1. I’d say the Snail Mucin mask is great for hydration and may help brighten up your face a little but nothing significant. If you’re after something that would even out your skin tone then I’d suggest the SK-II’s Genoptics Aura Essence, it does a great job of evening out and brightening up your skin tone … though the price tag is a bit crazy 😦

      Like

      1. Sorry I couldn’t be more help – maybe consider the SK-II FTE or it’s dupe Missha’s FTE .. I know they’re not cheap but they lasts a long time. Also, I do suggest trying to get your hands on some samples first before you invest just to make sure your skin will tolerate them! They don’t work overnight though, so consistency is key! I’ll get back to you if I can think of something a bit more affordable and great for your concern! 😉
        Tinnie
        xoxo

        Like

    1. Thank you Janna! I’m glad you liked it and thank you for visiting!! I love the Black Sugar Mask and am extremely tempted to make my own at home, I have a feeling that this won’t turn out well!! Haha

      Like

  1. I had a sample of the SK-II RNA Power back from my Japan trip that I had finished and I think it’s one of the best. I have an oily skin and I only used it at night but the following day, it just made my skin so soft. I promised myself the next time I go to Japan, I’ll be buying the full size jar no matter the cost! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

