Beauty

How to safely enjoy the Sun’s kisses.

Aloha and welcome back curious readers!

Now, whilst us Southern Hemispheredians are stuttering and stammering away from the cold our northern counterparts have thawed from  winter and are currently in full summer-ready mode. Blue skies and bright suns in abundance, but you know what else is in abundance? UV-Rays (I know , you have heard, watched and read about it a MILLION times – but hear me out).

You know the dangers of UV already, skin cancers, hyper-pigmentation and wrinkles. I don’t want to dwell on the obvious – what I ask is for international calm, do not to freak out and slap on layers of sunscreen and cover yourself up in a protective suit … In fact, a decent amount of sun exposure is important. You will need that Vitamin D to help you absorb Calcium (the super important element for your BONES!). About 15 minutes a day – preferably in the mornings when the UV rays are weakest – of sun exposure (by this I mean with no sunscreen) is often recommended, but prolonged non-protected sun exposure is a no-no.

So, fundamentals aside – North Hemispheredians you’ve broken free from those cold chilly days now go and enjoy those sunny kisses safely with these babies. 

Sun safe - skincare and makeup

I like to think of sun-protection/care as a three step process – Prevention, Looking Good and Recovery. So without further a-do, lets begin!

PREVENTION: Before you head out into the sun

Drunk Elephant’s C-Firma Day  Serum

Druk Elephant C-Firma Serum

Now this product contains Vitamin C and other complexes that not only leaves your skin moisturised but it also has an additive effect with your sunscreen. Basically together, C-Firma and sunscreen is a power house for sun protection!

Psst … I’ve already reviewed this baby so if you’d like to read more, click on the like (Review: Drunk Elephant C-Firma Day Serum). 😉

(Face) Hada-Labo Perfect UV Gel SPF50+ PA ++++

Hada Labo Perce UV gel

Now when it comes to sun screen my skin is fussier than I like. For 23 years I could not find a single sunscreen that would both look good and not irritate my skin (a lot of the ones we have here leave a pretty thick white cast on), even the popular Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence sunscreen didn’t get along with my skin. I hunted for this Hada Labo sunscreen in Taiwan whilst on a trip there and though eager to try it, I was reserved in my expectations. Thankfully this sunscreen not only did not irritate my skin but it worked a dream! Now I just need to restock!

(Face) Missha’s All Round Safe Block – Soft finish Sun Milk  SPF50+ PA +++

Missha Sunscreen Soft Finish Sun Milk

To my surprise this was a really nice sunscreen (I was prejudiced by the packaging – to me cute packing means underperforming products, guess I was wrong heh). The Milk is nice and light and does not leave a cast whatsoever ever. The Sun Milk is pink in colour but dries to a clear matte finish. There is a bit of a scent to it, so I suggest that (as always) we patch test before smother it all over our faces. Uniquely, I find that this milk makes my complexion softer and more pore less  (probably has something to do with the pink part of it). So it’s perfect for those non-makeup days!

(Body) Sunplay’s Skin Aqua UV Watery Gel SPF50+ PA ++++

Sunscreen Skin Aqua from Sun Play

Another really decent sunscreen, but the texture is a lot greasier and thicker than the previous two. From experience, it does not sit too well on my combo-oily skin and I tend to break out when I use this. Also, it leaves my face tacky and sticky all day that my hair would cling to it like it was a static balloon. But it is perfect for the body, it’s easy to apply leaves no cast and because it’s a tad oily, it leaves your skin with that glowy complexion.

LOOKING GOOD: Whilst you’re in the sun

Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion Brightening SPF50+/PA +++

sulwhasoo perfecting cushion

A more detailed review coming later, but this is great for those of us who like to look flawless no matter the occasion.  It’s easy to use and has pretty decent sun protection, to add it has a super easy application process so you can re-apply on the go! If you don’t want to spend too much money on makeup, I suggest you just use your favourite  BB creams or Foundation Cushions with sufficient SPF and PA protection 😉 .

Also the older version, the Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion (Review: Sulwhasoo Perfecting cushion) would work just as well too!

RECOVERY: After exposure from the sun

Nature Republic Aloe Vera 92% Soothing Gel (Image from official site)

skin-soothing-and-moisture-aloe-vera-92-soothing-gel-2.jpg

So everyone raved about it – it’s natural, inexpensive , a multi-tacker and soothing. Aloe Vera naturally has healing properties so you find it in a lot of sun soothing gels etc. Now, don’t think that this soothing gel can save your face after a day of frolicking with the sun non protected. This is just an extra step to re-mositurise and soothe your skin. The sun, beach and sun screen can dry out the moisture from your skin leaving you looking like a shrivelled and slightly redden plum. I suggest you layer on the Soothing Gel and leave it  for as about 5-10 minutes after which you can leave if on to absorb if you’re comfortable or wash away and continue with your normal skin care routine.

Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence

Cosrx Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence

Similar to the Aloe Vera Sooth Gel, Snail’s mucin (Review: Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence)  is believed to have healing and soothing properties. So this would be a great post-sun TLC product! Also, I find that CosRx’s Advanced Snail 96 Mucin helps heals acne scars too! BONUS 😉

Sk-II Genoptics Aura Essence 

SK-II GENOPTICS AURA ESSENCE

I know I’ve mentioned this product before in – Beating the Winter’s chills with the Summer’s glow! – but what I didn’t dwell on then is how it “reverses” sun damage.  It’s suppose to help you “dissipate dark spots” not only on the surface of the skin but it also works at a deeper level, clearing DESTROYING those “dark clouds” before they surface and become spots (I’m hoping on that hehe). Ultimately this essence should keep your skin looking clear and glowy! 🙂

SUNNY DAYS

Now, whilst this post is probably most relevant to our Northern Hemispheredians (at the moment) – us Southern Hemispheredians shouldn’t neglect the importance of sun protection either, don’t be tricked into thinking that the clouds are shielding us from the sun’s harmful UV rays. 😐

How do you enjoy the sun’s kisses safely? Comment below!

Thank you for visiting and stay curious!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “How to safely enjoy the Sun’s kisses.

Leave a Reply

