For elegance and sophistication: a review of my top perfume picks.

A girl should be two things, classy and fabulous

Coco Chanel

Sometimes when I’m trying to channel my inner Kate Middleton or Michelle Obama (who are seriously the epitome of elegance, class and are obviously fabulous), I  bring out my perfumes and select carefully. For me, selecting an appropriate perfume makes the biggest difference, but this is MUCH easier said then done.

Perfume shopping is NOT easy, too often I find myself gravitating to the perfumes that have the biggest display isle, ones that share a photo shoot with trendiest models or my favourite celebrity or ones that have the most intricate designs ..  but I’ve learnt that it’s really about understanding your preferences and not about what the media/advertisements are feeding us. I’ve always found perfume testing challenging, especially after I’ve been spritzed and sprayed crazy – I rarely know which one is which (TIP: ask the salesperson to give you a sniff of some coffee beans when you’re getting confused .. this helps “reset” your nose heh). So usually what I prefer to do before perfume shopping is to figure out exactly what  kind of perfume I wanted. In this instance, I wanted my perfume to help me radiate a sense of elegance and playfulness, something that’s fruity but also subtle. I won’t bore you with my shopping stories but basically I’ve selected  and reviewed (briefly) the three perfumes that I believe satisfies my inner Kate Middleton and Michelle Obama the most (perfumes not in any particular order). 🙂

Balmain, Coach and Burberry perfume

BALMAIN Extatic EDT

Balmain Extatic Perfume

Scent: Fresh and fruity (umm I’m thinking Lychees?) ! Almost like a crisp glass of moscato ( I rarely drink any alcohol so .. 😉 )

Intensity level:

1: Me smell nothin

2: Lingering (i.e can kinda smell it)

3: Subtle

4: Moderate

5: Potent

6:  Way too potent

Lasting duration: A solid 3-4 hours

Perfect for: Everyday work place – it’s a perfect balance of playfulness and maturity!

Burberry BRIT Sheer for Her EDT

Burberry For Her Perfume

Scent: Fruity and florally

Intensity level:

1: Me smell nothin

2: Lingering

3: Subtle

4: Moderate

5: Potent

6: Way too potent

Lasting duration:  3 hours

Perfect for: The subtle scent  gives off a clean and elegant feel and isn’t at all too overpowering! This makes it perfect for simple uni/school days!

Coach EDP

Coach EDP Perfume

Scent: Mostly florally scents with subtle fruity scents .. kinda like roses in a bottle 🙂

Intensity level:

1: Me smell nothin

2: Lingering

3: Subtle

4: Moderate

5: Potent

6: Way too potent

Lasting duration:  4 -5 hours

Perfect for: Weddings or special nights out

Note: Theres also an EDT version (which is pink). They are pretty much the same, except the EDP has higher concentrations of frangrance oils so would last for a bit longer than the EDT verison.

 

Thank you again for visiting! I hope that this blog was somewhat helpful. Now Imma need some rest cause I’m getting dizzy from all the perfume sniffing! hehe

Stay curious!

Leave a Reply

