Makeup · Product Review

Review: Benefit Roller Lash Mascara

Welcome back to this little rainy wonderland!

Today it’s Benefit’s turn to be put on the table (lolz jokes!), but seriously this review is gonna be an interesting one .. it will most probably be the opposite of what every other review has said about the mascara.

So now that I’ve got you interested, let’s begin!

I’ve actually been quite lucky in terms of finding suitable mascaras for my lashes. I had loved most of the Maybelline’s mascaras since they are super affordable and are actually very good! But I wanted something better.. I wanted a mascara they would lift and separate my lashes as well as give them some length but at the same time non-clumpy and natural looking (I don’t think I’ll ever find a mascara like that, but hey  a girl can hope!). So I did heaps of research and was prepared to spend whatever the price, as long as most of the above criterion were closely met (notice I said closely 🙂 ) .  I watched youtube videos to help narrow down my selection to the top three then read blogs and reviews about the individual mascaras. So who was the ultimate winner from all this? ..*drum roll* … Benefit’s Roller Lash mascara!

Benefit's Roller Lash Mascara
A posh mascara for flat lashes 😦

About my lashes, they’re actually pretty long … though sparse and very thin, so I guess it’s your traditional “Asian-type lashes”.  So what I’ve learn’t after multiple mascara purchases was that water-proof mascaras makes my lashes look great and non-water proof formulas? Heavy. So when (at the Benefit’s counter) I learnt that the formula wasn’t a water-proof formula I didn’t let it deter me. No sir, not one bit! I had heard the salesperson say that it was  “water resistance”, so I was sure that it wouldn’t matter … well silly me..

CLAIMS (from the official website):

It’s a roller for lashes! The eye-opening Hook ‘n’ Roll™ brush grabs, separates, lifts and curls…while the instant curve-setting formula holds for 12 hours. Contains provitamin B5 and serin, ingredients known for their lash-conditioning benefits. Available in two stunning shades, original ink black or brown.

Satin finish
Water-resistant & easy to remove
87% said it gives long-lasting curl*

It rolled alright, rolled my eyelashes FLAT out!

PERFORMANCE/ ME THINKS …

Benefit Roller Lash comb

Hook ‘n’ Roll brush: How to use the Hook ‘n’ Roll brush is still pretty much a mystery to me, so far all it gives me are clumpy applications and weird unnatural looking lashes.

“INSTANT CURVE SETTING FORMULA” : Okay, so imma gonna be blunt. This mascara DID not give my lashes a curl AT ALL, in fact it worked quick-smart in flatten out any curls I’ve managed to attain with my eyelash curler. So setting a curve? Uh no, THAT did not happen.

Lash conditioning benefits: Lashes felt the same … So um, lets not .. dwell…  on this.

Two- stunning shades: I bought the ink black shade,  and yes it was indeed ink black. Especially when it smudged underneath my eyes and transformed me into a PANDA!

Water resistance and easy to remove: So this confused me a little (now that I think about it haha), like don’t judge me (if I’m wrong) but isn’t this kinda like an oxymoron? It’s like saying hated love or like describing someone as tall but short ?? Um water resistant but easy to remove? My definition of easy to remove = can be cleaned with water. My idea of water resistance = cannot be removed with water. So the above statement in my head (NOW .. obviously not when I was purchasing the product *face palm*) appears as below :

“cannot be cleaned with water” AND “can be cleaned with water”

Like HOW? 0.0

But seriously, don’t be upset by my honestly, very BLUNT post. My conclusion is that the mascara was NOT RIGHT FOR MY LASHES. The formula just did not suit my lashes, but I’ve seen amazing reviews and images of before and after using this mascara and honestly it looks AMAZING. I think the reason for this rather “not so pleasant post” may be from the fact that I’ve spent $54 AUD on this mascara with great expectations and now all it’s gonna do is live the rest of it’s day in my makeup draw 😦 .

So lesson learn’t I guess , my lashes NEEDS waterproof mascara. 😐

Will I give Benefit’s products another go? For sure, but maybe I’ll pass on anything non-waterproof. 😉

Stay curious!

Leave a Reply

