Product Review · Skincare

Review: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

Hello there!

I thought I should start my blog  off by reviewing one of skincare’s strongest player, the SK-II Facial Treatment Essence.

TheRainyWonderland-SK-II Facial treatment Essence review
My favourite essence!

 

The story goes that scientists were intrigued when they saw the soft and youthful hands of the elderly sake brewers in Japan and eventually discovered their star ingredient, Pitera. Pitera is the “miracle ingredient” used in all of SK-II’s products, especially the Facial Treatment Essence which has over 90% Pitera. Pitera is derived from fermented rice and claims to be rich in amino acids, vitamins minerals and organic acids. So in short, Pitera, when used on a regular basis should help you maintain your youthful glow and help prevent wrinkles right? – Lets see

I bought my first bottle of Facial Treatment Essence in May of 2016 after much deliberation and after reading numerous reviews. The reviews were good, bloggers and youtubers claims that the essence gave their faces that glow from within look and kept it wrinkle free. So, I went out to test it for myself.

PACKAGING

facial-treatment-essenceSK-II, New Phoenix, Limited Edition Facial Treatment Essence 4

 

SK-II products are impeccably packaged, sophisticated and classy (image from offical website) . Sometimes, they have limited edition bottles for special occasions like the Chinese New Year or Mothers day – just to make it extra special (like above). The bottle is made of glass which gives it an expensive feel. Although for the first two months, I had nightmares about dropping and breaking my Facial Treatment Essence bottle (I’m not shallow, its expensive!:) )

PROPERTIES

The liquid is clear and has a pungent fermented smell to it. I know a lot of people are put off by this, but I don’t mind it too much.

PERFORMANCE

I used it in the morning and night everyday by dropping two to three drops onto my clean palms then gently patting it onto my face and neck. Initially I didn’t see a visible difference in my skin, but after the second month people started questioning me about what foundation I was using to achieve that glow from within look. I also noticed that I got fewer breakouts and my skin appeared tighter (not in an uncomfortable way) and a lot smoother. Fast forward to 2017 and I am still using my essence religiously and still loving it!

ME THINKS..

The treatment essence will not be suitable for everyone, simply because everyone has different skin types and what works for me may not work for you (trust me, I’ve spent too much money learning this the hard way). But I definitely believe that its worth the try! Try to get a sample from your local SK-II counter first before investing in it, just to make sure that your skin is compatible with it. Price wise, I feel like we all deserve to pamper ourselves a little every now and then for our hard work, so a bottle of essence ever so often is justifiable! Also don’t expect to see results straight away, all good things take time so let it slowly work its magic!

Good luck and stay curious!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

Leave a Reply

