Korean skincare · Product Review · Skincare

Review: Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence

Hello curious readers!

So another review, this time its on – okay it’s gonna be a mouthful – the Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (okay now I can breathe). For those of you who are beauty junkies yourself, you would already know that Cosrx is a Korean brand which has been pretty popular recently. The brand’s philosophy is to make products without all the added nasties (btw I’m not sponsored by the brand in anyway).

cosrx-brand.jpg

STORYTIME (COULD SKIP IT IF YOU LIKE HEHE)

Anyways, so  – My skincare journey started when there was all this hype about snail mucin in Korea, before that I only washed my face with water :/.It got me interested, I always knew that snail mucin was somewhat beneficial (from my elderly) but I’ve never found a product that had it before… that was until I heard that Korea have recently released creams containing snail mucin! I ran off to my local Korean cosmetic shop to get my hands on some and all they was the IT’S SKIN Prestige Snail Cream which costed $64! I had great expectations f, but ultimately it was too heavily fragranced and I passed it onto my sister who had dry skin (who loved it). Since then I have been reluctant to try any other Korean “snail creams” as I was worried about it being overly fragranced. So you can imagine my delight when I heard about cosrx’s snail mucin with no added nasties!!

THE CLAIMS

Below is basically the information I got from the main cosrx website:

Formulated with 96% Snail Secretion Filtrate(Mucin), this essence protects the skin from moisture loss while keeping the skin texture smooth and healthy. This essence is created from nutritious, low-stimulation filtered snail mucin in order to keep your skin moisturized all day while bringing back your skin’s vitality. The filtered snail mucin replenishes and revitalizes nutrients with looking healthy skin. It’s suitable for all skin types.

PACKAGING

snail_ese_1

Simple, fun, no fuss and practical packaging (image from offical Cosrx site – apologies for using offical images, I’m working on my photography skills). You’ll learn that the pump is a smart idea, in consideration to the consistency of the product.

PROPERTIES

So the consistency is very snail slime like (some of you might find this gross, I understand hehe). Yes, its slimy, clear and takes a while to work into your skin. I usually need a good three pump to cover my big face, you’ll probably need less if you’ve got a small face (jealous). Also, I believe that their “harvesting” method is pretty pain free for the snails and no snail lives were taken (phew..)

ME THINKS….

Me like. It wasn’t too expensive, about $18 and considering it contains 100ml of snail mucin – its not too bad. Again I suggest you patch test before you go ahead and apply it all over your face just incase your skin isn’t compatible with it. The product isn’t something that works miracle overnight, I feel like its vitamins for my face. Something that I’ll do everyday to prepare my skin for the future. Sure it does help sightly with acne marks as well and my skin does look healthier in the long run.

And thats it!

Always stay curious!

 

Leave a Reply

